The Regional Council of Rural Counties (RCRC) has installed its newly elected officers for leadership positions. Supervisor Kim Dolbow Vann of Colusa County was installed as Chair, Kevin Cann of Mariposa County as 1st Vice Chair, and Nate Beason of Nevada County as 2nd Vice Chair during RCRC’s Board installation meeting in Sacramento.

“It’s a privilege to lead RCRC and I thank my fellow rural county supervisors for entrusting me with this task,” said Supervisor Vann.  “This year is likely to be another challenging one for California’s rural counties.  As Chair, I want to continue the strong advocacy program that RCRC has in place so policy makers in Sacramento and Washington, D.C. are aware of our position. ”

All three rural county supervisors were formally sworn into their leadership positions for one-year terms at RCRC’s Annual Installation meeting on January 18, 2012.  Vann, Cann and Beason accepted their positions before an audience of approximately 100 attendees from local, state and federal organizations.  Also in attendance were state legislators and congressional field representatives.

“Whether it is promoting tourism, economic development, or curtailing fees on residents in State Responsibility Areas, I will continue to work with the other board members to ensure the concerns of Mariposa County and all California rural counties are heard and represented. I am excited to be a part of RCRC’s leadership team,” said Supervisor Cann.

“I am honored to have been selected 2nd Vice Chair of RCRC by fellow rural county supervisors from around the State,” said Supervisor Beason. This position allows me to have a greater role in addressing the many issues facing Nevada County and all rural counties in California, as well as the ability to stay informed on the latest developments from Sacramento and Washington, D.C.”

Supervisor Diane Dillon of Napa County remains an officer in the position of Immediate Past Chair.

Also during its reception last night, RCRC acknowledged Assemblyman Kevin Jeffries (Riverside) and Senator Lois Wolk (Yolo) as recipients of its 2011 legislator of the year with its annual “Patti Mattingly Award”. The Patti Mattingly Award is given to a policymaker who has demonstrated leadership on rural issues and an understanding of the unique challenges that rural communities face.

RCRC is an association of 31 rural counties that advocates before the Legislature, Congress, and other government agencies on behalf of rural issues.  Headquartered in Sacramento, county supervisors comprise RCRC’s governing board. Please visit our website at for more information.