One of the greatest privileges of being the Editor of PublicCEO is being able to celebrate the many successes of our State’s local governments and recognize the leaders in municipal governance. That’s why, shortly after founding the site in 2009, we established the PublicCEO Local Government Awards.

We make every effort to ensure that all levels of local government receive the recognition they deserve. Last year, when Mayor Villaraigosa called for sweeping pension reform, we recognized his courage with our Elected Official of the Year. Valerie Brown, then on the Sonoma County Board of Supervisors, was recognized as our County Official of the Year in 2010 for her leadership to not only her own county, but to the National Association of Counties. She later went on to serve on the White House Advisory Board. We’ve also recognized the efforts of city- and county-level staff – people like Brent Cardall of San Benito County’s Probation department.

This year, we are proud to announce the winners of our 2011 PublicCEO Local Government Awards. They represent the best that California’s public sector has to offer, and we congratulate all of our nominees and winners.

This year’s awards are:

Mayor Chuck Reed
City of San Jose

Mayor Ryan McEachron
City of Victorville

Ken Hampian
City of Bell

Supervisor John Tavaglione
Riverside County
California State Association of Counties

Jo MacKenzie
Vista Irrigation District
California Special Districts Association

Lisa Woolery
City of Tustin

I-15 Interchange
City of Victorville
San Bernardino Area Governments

Napa County
Napa County Caregiver Permits

City of Santa Clara
City Donates $45,000 to Charities

Supervisor David Rogers
County of Madera