City of San LeandroSan Leandro City Council Member Victor Aguilar was unanimously voted by his nationwide colleagues to serve as the 2023 National League of Cities LGBTQ+ Local Officials Committee President. Council Member Aguilar has served on this committee for the past three years. Council Member Aguilar’s priorities are providing high-speed internet to underprivileged communities, addressing the housing shortages locally and nationally, and representing people of color in the national dialogue on diversity, equity, and inclusion matters.    

After being elected to the position Council Member Aguilar stated, “I am honored that my fellow  National League of Cities colleagues would select me as the next LGBTQ+LO committee president. I will roll up my sleeves and address some of the pressing issues affecting cities throughout the country. For one, the Colorado Springs Club Q shooting continues to sting in my heart and mind. Our country needs to come together to act on gun violence, mental health, and protecting the most vulnerable. We may look different and have different preferences, but we are  all Americans.”  

The following elected officials will serve alongside Council Member Aguilar.  

  • First VP: Ty Stober, Mayor Pro Tem, Vancouver, WA 
  • Second VP: Jennifer Adams, Vice Mayor, Tempe, AZ 
  • Immediate Past President: Jeffrey Slavin, Mayor, Somerset, MD  
  • At Large Member Christopher Constant, Assembly Member, Anchorage, AK  At Large Member Joseph Geierman, Mayor, Doraville, GA  
  • At Large Member Sena Magill, Council Member, Charlottesville, VA  
  • At Large Member Corina Pfeil, Council Member Kenmore, WA 

Council Member Victor Aguilar received a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science degree from  Hawaii Pacific University and attained a Local Leaders Program certificate from the University of Southern California Executive Education Forum for Policy. Council Member Aguilar is a  member of the Alameda County Democratic Central Committee Executive Committee (18th Assembly District, Vice Chair), Asian Pacific American Democratic Caucus of Alameda County,  Brownie Mary Democratic Club of Alameda County, and the East Bay Stonewall Democratic  Club.