City of San LeandroThe City of San Leandro Vice Mayor Victor Aguilar has been appointed to the National League of Cities (NLC) Information Technology and Communications Committee for 2021. The appointment was announced by NLC President Kathy Maness, Councilmember of Lexington, South Carolina. As a member of this committee, Vice Mayor Aguilar will play a key role in shaping NLC’s policy positions and advocate on behalf of America’s cities and towns before Congress, as well as with agencies and officials from across the federal government.

The NLC Information Technology and Communications advocacy committee has the lead responsibility for developing the organization’s federal policy positions on a variety of issues involving telecommunications and information systems. Examples include public access rights, privacy concerns, cable TV regulations, phone services, spectrum issues, communications tower siting, universal service, as well as protection of local control over communications facility installations in public rights-of-way.

“It is an honor to be appointed to this committee. I look forward to serving alongside my nationwide colleagues to advocate for policies that strengthen and protect the American people,” said Aguilar. “Together, we will work at the national level on protecting local interests in places like San Leandro, while also advocating for renewed federal investment in broadband infrastructure with a focus on bridging the digital divide.”

“Our federal advocacy committees are the voices of what’s happening on the ground in our communities,” said Kathy Maness, Councilmember of Lexington, South Carolina, and President of the National League of Cities (NLC). “I am proud to have Vice Mayor Aguilar join NLC’s ITC committee on behalf of his residents. Together, with a team of local leaders from around the country, we will work to solve the most pressing challenges facing our communities.”

The committee’s leadership roles include John Fogle, Councilor, City of Loveland, CO, as Chair, along with two vice-chairs: Alix Desulme, Councilman from North Miami, Florida, and Susan Norton, Chief of Staff, City of Fayetteville, AR.