City of Santa Ana logoFor the first time in Santa Ana’s 153-year history, a woman will be sworn in as mayor next week, along with three City Council Members.

In the Nov. 8, 2022, General Municipal Election, Santa Ana voters elected Valerie Amezcua as mayor, Benjamin Vazquez to represent City Council Ward 2, Mayor Pro Tem Phil Bacerra to serve another term for City Council Ward 4, and Council Member David Penaloza to again represent City Council Ward 6. The mayor serves a two-year term and council members serve four-year terms.

Santa Ana voters also passed two ballot measures – Measure W, which restructures the City’s business license tax, and Measure X, which updates the City Charter with several changes, including a lifetime ban on running for mayor or City Council after a certain number of terms have been served.

The Orange County Registrar of Voters has certified the election results, which can be found at

On Tuesday, Dec. 13, the City Council will have a special meeting to certify the results, install the newly elected mayor and councilmembers, and elect a new mayor pro tem. The public is invited to attend. The meeting begins at 6 p.m. in the City Council Chambers, 22 Civic Center Plaza, at Santa Ana City Hall.

To watch the meeting online in English or Spanish, go to the City’s YouTube channel at The meeting will be broadcast live on the City’s television channel, CTV3, available on Spectrum channel 3.