League of California Cities logoThe National League of Cities (NLC) announced a new slate of leaders in mid-November at its annual City Summit, held this year in Atlanta. Mayor-Elect David Sander of Rancho Cordova is NLC’s new president, and several other California officials will serve in other key positions.

“As long as they’ve existed, the laboratories of democracy that we call cities, towns, and villages have been essential in building partnerships and driving innovation in our country,” Sander said. “I look forward to working closely with the incredible group of local leaders that make up our Board of Directors and our NLC membership as we envision what’s possible for our communities over the next 100 years.”

New to the NLC Board of Directors is Council Member Jaime Patiño (Union City), who is also serving a term as the first vice president of the Hispanic Elected Local Officials group. Mayor Jan Arbuckle (Grass Valley) was appointed to NLC’s Executive Committee.

Sander will also co-chair NLC’s 2024 Presidential Election Task Force. The bipartisan group will work with presidential candidates and their teams through the election, inauguration, and the early months of the next administration. The group will focus on ensuring that cities have a seat at the decision-making table while promoting good governance, civil discourse, and engagement.

Sander will serve as the organization’s president for a one-year term.

Mayor Ashleigh Aitken (Anaheim) will serve on the 2024 presidential task force along with Mayor-Elect Sander. Mayor Cindy Silva (Walnut Creek) was elected as vice chair of the Housing and Community Development Committee. Council Member Frank Aurelio Yokoyama (Cerritos) will lead the Asian Pacific American Municipal Officials group and Council Member Victor Aguilar, Jr. (San Leandro) will head the LGBTQ+ Local Officials group.

The National League of Cities represents over 2,700 cities across the nation and is one of the League of California Cities’ closest partners. The organization works to strengthen local leadership, influence federal policy, and drive innovative solutions.