La Palma logo

At its regular meeting on December 12, 2023, the La Palma City Council selected Marshall Goodman as Mayor and Mark Waldman as Mayor Pro Tem for 2024.

Mayor Goodman said, “It’s an honor to be here, and I look forward to collaborating with the Staff and Council to enhance the community.” He congratulated outgoing Mayor Debbie Baker, acknowledging her successful leadership, stating, “Mayor Baker did a great job steering the ship.” Elected to the City Council in November 2016, Mayor Goodman also assumed the role of President of the League of California Cities Orange County Division earlier this year.

Mayor Pro Tem Mark Waldman echoed Mayor Goodman’s sentiments, expressing eagerness to collaborate with the Council and contribute to La Palma’s status as one of the best places to live. Elected to the City Council in 2004, Mayor Pro Tem Waldman served two terms, returning to office in 2020 after an 8-year hiatus.

La Palma City Council

[Pictured From Left to Right: Council Member Nitesh Patel, Council Member Janet Keo Conklin, Mayor Marshall Goodman, Council Member Debbie Baker, and Mayor Pro Tem Mark Waldman]

About the City of La Palma

Ranked by Money Magazine in 2015, 2013, 2011, and 2007 as one of America’s Best Places to Live, the City of La Palma is a 1.9 square mile general law city in northwest Orange County, consisting of over 15,581 residents and approximately 300 commercial and industrial businesses. The City was incorporated in 1955 under the name of Dairyland and has 53 full-time and 35 part-time employees.